News - 31 August 2016

BNA Kubus awarded to Ben van Berkel and Caroline Bos

Extract from the jury report:
The jury concluded that Van Berkel and Bos, together with their UNStudio team, are more than deserved winners of the 2016 BNA Kubus. 'No one controls the creative and technical process better than UNStudio. They prove that in-depth research pays off, as does network-driven collaboration with professionals in the fields of architecture, infrastructure and urban development. The cutting-edge nature and absolute craftsmanship of their body of work makes it both exemplary and innovative.’

Extract from the BNA announcement:
The jury’s decision was based on three criteria: excellent craftsmanship, a recognisable and innovative body of work, and a relevant contribution to the profession. Great attention to detail and execution is clearly visible in all the works.

Another factor that is in Van Berkel and Bos’s favour is the major contribution they make to dialogue and theory development within the profession. They do so by, among other things, participating in debates, giving lectures, teaching at architecture faculties abroad, and through their many publications.

BNA Kubus:
The BNA Kubus is the highest honour bestowed by the Royal Institute of Dutch Architects (abbreviated as BNA). The prize is awarded to persons or institutions that have made an exceptional contribution to architecture in the Netherlands. This year, the Kubus will be presented for the 41st time.

The Kubus was awarded on the recommendation of a jury made up of Nathalie de Vries (chair), Steven Nobel, Ton Idsinga, Wienke Bodewes, Willem Hein Schenk and Willem Jan Neutelings. The presentation ceremony will take place on 3 November in Amsterdam.

See the full BNA announcement here