News - 6 August 2012

Ben van Berkel and Caroline Bos awarded Professorships at two leading international Universities

Caroline Bos awarded Honorary Professorship at University of Melbourne's Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning and Ben van Berkel's Kenzo Tange Chair at Harvard University Graduate School of Design extended for three years.

Caroline Bos has been awarded an Honorary Professorship at The University of Melbourne, Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning 
The University of Melbourne’s Senior Appointments and Promotions Committee (SAPC) recently advised in favour of the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning’s nomination of Caroline Bos to a five year Honorary Professorial position within the faculty. As an Honorary Professor, Caroline Bos will contribute to the teaching and research at the school through lectures, master classes and student crits.

Caroline Bos will commence her Professorship with a free public lecture titled 'More not Less - Value Engineering for Architecture', as part of the MSD Dean's Lecture Series on August 7th 2012.

Ben van Berkel - Kenzo Tange Chair extended for 3 years at Harvard University Graduate School of Design
In 2011 Ben van Berkel was awarded the Kenzo Tange Visiting Professor Chair at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. Following the studio carried out in the Fall semester of the same year, the Kenzo Tange Chair has been extended to Ben van Berkel for a further period of three years.

Broadening the scope of the initial studio, which addressed the question of knowledge spaces, and how such spaces facilitate the generation and dissemination of information, the upcoming studio, ‘Unfinished Work’, will investigate the relationship between architecture and emerging modes of production.

Kenzo Tange Chair
Since spring 1984, twenty-nine internationally recognized architects and urbanists have been appointed to the Kenzo Tange Visiting Professorship Chair at Harvard University. In these twenty-seven years recipients have included Alvaro Siza, Enric Miralles, Peter Zumthor, Zaha Hadid and Kazuyo Sejima. In addition, several current faculty members, including Rafael Moneo, Farshid Moussavi, and Jacques Herzog & Pierre de Meuron were also recipients of the Chair.