News - 27 July 2007

Architect of the Year 2007

The presentation of the new award ‘Architect of the Year 2007’ took place during an animated gathering in the Dutch architecture institute in Rotterdam last Saturday 07.07.07. This award has been established in concurrence with the 10th anniversary of the launch of ArchitectenWerk and aims to highlight – alongside the already established high architectonic qualities of their realized works – the professionalism and innovative qualities of Dutch architectural firms to clients, the press and the public.

A professional jury closely assessed The 11 nominated architectural offices based on five categories relating to their practice. These categories were business management, sustainability, innovation, knowledge development and client friendliness. UNStudio won three of the five categories, and was named the overall winner of the award.

The sum of 2,500 Euro is awarded with the prize and made available by the main sponsor Alcoa Architectuursytemen, Harderwijk.

Business Management: 1. UN Studio 2. De Zwarte Hond 3. Heren 5 Architecten
Sustainability: 1. Rudy Uytenhaak Architectenbureau 2. (ex acquo) Venhoeven CS en De Twee Snoeken
Innovation: 1. UN Studio, Amsterdam 2. Rudy Uytenhaak Architectenbureau 3. DP6 Architectuurstudio
Knowledge development: 1. De Twee Snoeken 2. Group A 3. Diederendirrix
Client friendliness: 1. UN Studio 2. Venhoeven CS 3. DP6 Architectuurstudio
Overall winner ‘Architect of the Year 2007’: 1. UN Studio 2. Rudy Uytenhaak Architectenbureau 3. Venhoeven CS